Disabling, Unloading, or Removing a Data Source

This topic describes when to use the Enable/Disable Data Source, Unload Data Source, and Remove Data Source commands.

Disabling/enabling a data source

You can use the Enable/Disable Data Source command to stop all process commands for a data source. When a data source is disabled, you cannot run process or clone commands or update the data tables in any way. This can be useful if you run a reporting program at the end of a business day and must ensure that client runs don't interfere with your reporting software.

If an error occurs for which there is no recovery, DATABridge Client may disable a data source. If this happens, you'll need to re-enable the data source using the Enable/Disable Data Source command.

Unloading/reloading a data source

The Unload Data Source command is used to back up the client control tables when they're in a good working state. When you use this command, enter a filename, and use optional command-line commands. You can use this back up copy to restore the client control tables as needed by using the Reload Data Source command and entering the same filename you used with the Unload Data Source command.

The file created by the Unload Data Source command is intended only for the program's use. To produce a readable version of the client control tables, see Display the Client Control Tables.

Removing a data source

The Remove Data Source command deletes the data tables (that is, the cloned data) of a data source. After you select the command, you have the option to remove the working directory and all associated files for the data source, including entries in the client control tables. (If no other data sources exist, this option deletes the client control tables.)

You might want to delete just the data tables after testing configuration features on a new data source and before cloning it for real-world production.