Dropping and Re-Creating Client Control Tables

If you drop and create the client control tables, you must reclone everything. All DATABridge tables that contain DMSII data will remain in the relational database. However, all of the information required from the client control tables to request updates from DBEngine will be lost.

Under normal circumstances, use the dropall command before running another configure command. This ensures the following:

  • That the tables and stored procedures created by dbutility are dropped from the relational database
  • That all scripts created by dbutility are deleted from the dbscripts subdirectory of the working directory

In some rare cases where the dropall command cannot drop all the tables, you may want to drop and create the client control tables directly by running dbutility configure as follows:

dbutility -u configure

When you attempt to execute a dbutility configure command after the client control tables have been populated, the following message appears:

ERROR: DATABridge control tables are not empty, use dropall command first

- To bypass this test use the 'u' option for the configure command

This message is provided as a safeguard so that you do not inadvertently drop and create the client control tables.