Task Builder Help Globe Icon

Host: VT Display Settings: Local Edit Page

Local editing is a feature of the VT300 series terminals. In local editing mode, text is stored in temporary memory (called page memory) as you type it. You can edit this text, then send a block of edited text to the host.

You may want to turn local edit mode on or off using the option on this page. However, usually you do not need to change the other default settings of local edit mode. Consult your system administrator before changing the defaults.

Use the options in the Local Edit page to select the features to use in local edit mode. These options correspond to the VT300 series terminal options. The default options are suitable for most users.

To display the Display settings, Local Edit page; after choosing your host type, from the Host menu, choose Display Settings, then Local Edit.

Edit Mode:  Specify whether to use local edit mode, in which the text typed is stored in temporary memory.

This option
Does this
Interactive Turns local edit mode off.
Enabled Turns local edit mode on.
Unavailable Disables local edit mode.

Function Keys:  Specify how the F6 through F20 function keys work in Local Edit mode.

This option
Does this
Prefix Sends a key's escape sequence to the host before sending a block of data.
Suffix Sends a key's escape sequence to the host after sending a block of data.
Immediate Keys send their usual escape sequences to the application software and do not affect edit mode.

EOL Characters:  Type up to 7 characters to send to indicate the end of a line (EOL) in a block of data. Type control codes in the range 0 to 31 as circumflex (^) followed by a character. Also, type any special code as a circumflex (^) followed by three decimal numbers.

EOB Characters:  Type the characters that will be sent to indicate the end of a block (EOB) of data. Type control codes in the range 0 to 31 as circumflex (^) followed by a character. Also, type any special code as a circumflex (^) followed by three decimal numbers.

Erasure Mode:  Specify the type of characters that you or the host can erase. All Erases all types of characters, while Unprotected erases only unprotected characters, not protected ones.

Edit Key:  Specify how to switch modes when you press SHIFT+SELECT (which is SHIFT+DELETE on a typical PC keyboard). Deferred sends a request to the host to switch modes, while Immediate switches the mode immediately.

Transmit:  Specify how to send data to the hsot when you press TRANSMIT. Deferred sends ESC S to notify the host that data is available, and the host retrieves the data.

VT131 Transfer:  Specify the terminal type to use to send a data block; ANSI or VT131.

Transfer Termination:  Sends the scrolling region when you press TRANSMIT. If not selected, a block based on the VT131 Transfer option is sent when you press TRANSMIT.

Space Compression:  Sends a record separator in place of unused character fields and spaces in a data block; the last field on a line contains an EOL character. If not selected, a space character is sent for each unused character position.

Line Transmit:  Sends a line of eligible characters when you press TRANSMIT. If not selected, a full or partial page is sent when you press TRANSMIT. The page size depends on the Transfer Termination and VT 131 transfer options.

New Line Scrolling:  Scrolls at the end of the screen when in Line Transmit mode.

Guarded Area:  Specify the type of characters to be sent. All sends both protected and unprotected characters, while Unprotected sends only unprotected characters.

Selected Area:  Specify the characters to be sent. Selected characters are those to which the host assigned the selected attribute; this is similar to the protected attribute.

Multiple Area:  Specify which selected area should be sent. Single sends only the selected area containing the cursor. Multiple sends all select areas on the current page.

Connecting to VT Hosts
Bullet Task Builder for Screens Help Links
  footer