Task Builder Help Globe Icon

Host Disconnected Message Box

The Host Disconnected message box is displayed when the host connection is lost. For example, the connection could be lost if your session has been inactive for an extended period of time or because of a network problem. If the disruption occurs while you are recording a task, it may result in an incomplete task in your project.

The actual message you receive, and the action to be taken, depends on the state of your session at the time the connection is lost.

If
Then
You have just logged off Some hosts automatically disconnect when you log off. In this case, the Host Disconnected message box is displayed but no corrective action is required.
You are recording a task Your task may be incomplete. To complete the task, you can use the testing feature to automatically navigate to the point at which your task was interrupted. When you choose Continue in the Unrecorded Screen dialog box, you can continue recording from that point.
You are canceling the recording It isn't necessary to choose Navigation Completed. If the connection had not been lost, you would have had to navigate back to the initial host screen and then choose Navigation Completed. This is not possible if your session has been disconnected.
You are testing a task You'll need to retest your task.
Your session is sitting idle in live screen mode When the session is disconnected, Task Builder automatically switches to review screen mode. If you had a task incompletely recorded, you can test the task to resume recording at the point at which your task was interrupted.
Your session is sitting idle in review screen mode The lost connection should have no effect on your current activity. You can work in review screen mode without a live connection to the host.
Related Topics
Bullet Recording Tasks
Bullet Handling Special Case Screens, Overview
Bullet Task Builder for Screens Help Links
  Footer