Show Contents / Index / Search
Preferences Dialog Box

Getting There

Section Visibility

 

Controls which sections of the X Manager navigation pane are displayed, and in which order. By default, all available sections are displayed.

Preferences Options

 

Keep only one section expanded

Controls the number of sections expanded at one time. When enabled, only the selected section is open; all other sections are automatically closed.

 

Empty trash at log off/exit

Permanently deletes all items in the trash can when you log off of the domain (domain mode), or exit the application (standalone mode).

 

Automatically hide successful tasks

When enabled, messages about successfully completed tasks are automatically removed from the Task Status pane, located at the bottom of X Manager and the Administrative Console.

Use Hide delay (secs) to specify the number of seconds that pass before a task message is removed.

Note: Tasks with errors are not removed.

FIPS mode

Enforces the United States government Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) 140-2 for this connection. When FIPS mode is selected, all available settings use security protocols and algorithms that meet this standard. Encryption options that do not meet this standard are not available; only the Secure Shell connection method can be used to start X clients, and XDMCP is not available as a session startup option.

Each time you change the FIPS mode setting, you must restart X Manager or X Manager for Domains.

FIPS mode is not available if Reflection X Advantage is using a non-default JRE that is not configured for unlimited strength cryptography.

A standalone X Manager can share sessions with other standalone X Managers running in the same mode. Thus FIPS X Managers are able to share only with other FIPS X Managers and non-FIPS X Managers are able to share only with other non-FIPS X Managers.

For domains, you must configure FIPS mode both in X Manager for Domains and the Administrative Console. In order to log onto a domain, the FIPS mode of X Manager for Domains must match the domain's FIPS mode.

 

Preferred language

Specify the preferred language for the user interface. This setting takes effect when you restart the program.

 

On exiting X Manager

Determines how X Manager handles running sessions with one or more clients running when closing X Manager (standalone) or when logging off X Manager for Domains.

Prompt
The user is prompted to decide how to handle running sessions:

  • Stop the session
  • Leave the session running
  • Cancel the operation to close X Manager

 

Stop all sessions
X Manager closes running sessions when closing or logging off. If you are using the standalone X Manager, this setting stops all running sessions. If you are using X Manager for Domains and you have configured sessions that support session suspension, any sessions you leave before you close the window will continue to run.

Leave sessions if possible
(X Manager for Domains only).

The session continues to run if a session definition's Remote session services is set to one of the following (any suspend/resume option other than None):

  • Session suspend/resume
  • Session suspend/resume, High-latency network performance
  • Session suspend/resume, High-latency network performance, Network fault tolerance

    If a session is not set to any of the above, the session closes when X Manager is closed.

 

On closing session window

Determines how X Manager handles closing a session configured to Show clients on X terminal desktop when one or more clients are running.

Prompt
The user is prompted to decide how to handle running sessions:

  • Stop the session
  • Leave the session running
  • Cancel the operation to close the session window

 

Stop session
X Manager closes the session when the session window is closed.

Leave session if possible
(X Manager for Domains only)

The session continues to run if a session definition's Remote session services is set to one of the following (any suspend/resume option other than None).

  • Session suspend/resume
  • Session suspend/resume, High-latency network performance
  • Session suspend/resume, High-latency network performance, Network fault tolerance

    If Remote session services is set to None, the session closes when the session window is closed.

 

When displaying Help

By default help content is provided from the Attachmate.com website. If you want help calls to go to locally installed files instead, download and run the optional local help installer, and change this setting to "Use installed help system."

If either local or web help is not available, Reflection X Advantage will automatically attempt to use the other option.

Related Topics

The X Manager Interface