Show Contents / Index / Search
Trace Session Dialog Box

Getting there

Tracing creates a file that will help Attachmate Support analyze and troubleshoot problems. After receiving your trace file, Attachmate Support can replay the trace to replicate the problem.

Note: If you see this dialog box when you start a client, it means that tracing has been enabled for the session. If you don't what to trace the connection, click cancel to close the dialog box. Select the default session definition used by your client, click the Advanced tab, and then clear the Trace session checkbox.

The options are:

File name

Specify an output filename and location of the trace file.

If the session is configured to run on the local machine, the trace file will be saved to the local system, and you see full path information. You can save the trace to the default location shown, or browse to select an alternate location.

If the session is configured to run on a remote node, the trace file will be saved to that remote system and you see only a filename. (This occurs when Remote Session Services on the session definition's General tab is set to anything other than None.) When no path information is given, the trace file is saved to the Reflection X Advantage program location (typically C:\Program Files\Attachmate\Reflection on Windows and /opt/rxadvantage on UNIX). You can add path information relative to this location, or specify full path information. In either case, the path specified must be valid and accessible on the remote system.

 

Trace session

Continues your connection and starts recording. The trace is saved to the location you specified when the session stops.

 

Cancel

Closes the dialog box and stops the connection. If you want to make the next connection without creating a trace, return to Advanced tab for your session definition and clear the Trace session checkbox.

 

Related Topics

Create a Trace

Troubleshooting