Add/Edit Credential Dialog Box

Getting there

Use this dialog box to add or edit credentials in the secure credential cache.

Note: The same cache is used to store credentials for multiple features. Which Allowed uses you see selected depends on how you got to the dialog box.

The options are:

[Domain]\user

Specify the user using this format:

domain\user

Specifying a domain is optional. If you omit the domain, the user is assumed to be local.

 

Password

Enter the Windows password for this user

 

Test

Click to see if the credentials are valid.

Last used

(Read only) displays the last time this credential was used for user authentication.

Note: The Last Used date is not updated when a cached credential is used for mapped drives, SFTP directories, or Active Directory access. (The date is updated when a cached credential is used because Use cached passwords to give users access to domain resources is selected.)

Allowed uses

Cached passwords for client access

Use cached passwords to give users access to domain resources using their own Windows credentials. This option is needed only when users log into the server without using their Windows credentials (for example using public key authentication). Without cached credentials, users who log in with public key authentication have access to folders on local drives, but don't have access to network resources.

 

SFTP directories and mapped drives

Use a specified account to connect to SFTP-accessible network resources or mapped drives. This option allows you to provide access that wouldn't be available to a user based on that user's own Windows account privileges.

Note: When you open this dialog box from either the Mapped Drives or SFTP Directories pane, this option is selected by default and can't be unselected.

 

Active Directory access

Use a specified account to give the server access to Active Directory. The server uses this account when it queries Windows Active Directory for user attributes and group membership.

Note: When you open this dialog box from the Active Directory Access pane, this option is selected by default and can't be unselected.

 

 

FileXpress user access account

Use a specified account to provide access to FileXpress Gateway users. FileXpress users run under the privileges of the specified account. This option is available only if you are running FileXpress Gateway.

Note: When you open this dialog box from the FileXpress Users pane, this option is selected by default and can't be unselected.

Related Topics

Cached Credentials

Understanding How Credentials Affect User Access to Resources