Show Contents / Index / Search

Handle Existing Files (Transfer Mode)

You can set a transfer mode to specify how the FTP Client should handle transfer when a file with the same name already exists in the target location. The current transfer mode is indicated on the status bar next to the transfer method.

To specify how to handle existing files

  • From the Tools menu, point to If File Exists and then click the transfer mode you want to use.

 

Append

Append the downloaded file to the destination file. This option is only available for transfers from the host.

 

Ask User

Open the Confirm File Replace dialog box to allow the user to decide what to do.

 

Cancel

The file transfer is canceled when a file with the specified name already exists.

If the file is part of a wildcard set (files being transferred using wildcards or a string of filenames), no other files are transferred to the PC after a duplicate is found.

 

Overwrite

Overwrite the destination file.

 

Skip

Do not transfer this file. If additional files are specified for this transfer operation, continue with the next file.

 

Update

Overwrite the destination file only if the file being transferred is newer than the destination file.

 

Unique

Automatically create a unique name for the destination file. The names of any files that are renamed during the transfer operation are shown in the FTP command window.

Note: In some circumstances, this setting is ignored. The value you specify using the If File Exists command applies only to transfers within the FTP Client. If you use drag-and-drop to transfer a file from a client display pane to your desktop or an open Windows Explorer window, Windows will always display a Confirm File Replace dialog box whenever a file exists, regardless of the FTP Client configuration. To take advantage of the currently configured option, always use Reflection panes for drag-and-drop transfers.

Related Topics

Confirm File Replace Dialog Box

Transfer Files with FTP Client

Commands for Error Handling