Disabling Client Features with Group Policies

Using the Windows policy editing utilities, you can establish policies across your enterprise that limit access to this product's features for one user, a group of users, a computer, a group of computers, a domain, or the entire enterprise. You can remove commands from the menus, disable buttons on toolbars and QuickPads, and disable keys on keyboard maps. For example, if you want to prevent users from creating a new session, you can remove the New Session option from the File menu.

To control access to client features by users, the system administrator specifies choices for a particular user or computer in the policy editor. During subsequent logons, Windows will transfer the administrator's policy choices to the registry of the user or computer, where the client will receive the instructions the next time it runs.

To disable a client feature through a Group Policy
  1. On Windows XP or Windows 2000, start the Group Policy snap-in by running gpedit.msc from the Start menu.

  2. Right-click the Administrative Templates folder under Computer Configuration or User Configuration, and choose Add/Remove Templates.

  3. From the Add/Remove Templates dialog box, choose the Add button.

  4. Open the EXTRA!.ADM file from the CD labeled EXTRA! Emulation from the following location:

    cd drive letter\EXTRA!\adm\language\

    EXTRA! will be listed in the Current Policy Templates list.

  5. Close the Add/Remove Templates dialog box.

  6. Expand the Administrative Templates folder, the Attachmate folder, and the EXTRA! X-treme folder.

    The EXTRA! X-treme client's options will be listed as a set of folders.

  7. Select the folder for the menu that provides the feature you want to disable.

    The Policy pane displays the features that you can disable.

  8. Double-click the policy you want to set.

    A dialog box appears with the policy options available for that policy.

  9. Select the Enabled option button.
    Note Although it may seem counter-intuitive to select Enabled to disable something, it is the policy that is being enabled.
    This setting
    Does this
    Not Configured Nothing.
    Enabled Places the policy in effect for the menu command, making it unavailable (appear dimmed) to the user.
    Disabled Removes the policy from the menu command, making it available for use.
  10. Click OK.

Related Topics
Bullet Managing EXTRA! X-treme, Overview
Bullet Disabling Client Features with the Security Editor
  Attachmate